Alberta Open Farm Days: YYC Growers Tour

This weekend is Open Farm Days in Alberta, where farmers welcome anyone interested into their farms to see how food is grown locally. I was enlisted by one of my research farms, Leaf & Lyre, to help out with the YYC Growers and Distributors tour. It was a hoot! Not worry, I live tweeted and took photos of the whole thing πŸ˜‰

The event was a success. It was so neat seeing Dennis and Kye’s plots. I visited them both in April when I was first choosing my farms for my research. Little was growing back then. Now everything is bursting with life!

Also, I am afraid I lied; I didn’t get photos of everything. After the tour we all enjoyed some delicious grilled veggies and kale salads provided by the farmers. I was too distracted by eating the food to take picture of the food. The participants seemed to all enjoy themselves and be very interested in everything going on. At very least I had fun! It was a great day.

IMG_6205

One Comment Add yours

  1. Brett says:

    Cool post and pics! Thanks for sharing this. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

