Tool Use Workshop for Women

My passions in life since middle school have consistently been feminism and environmentalism. I am so excited to be at place in my life where I can bring together empowering women and caring for the environment and share those passions with others! Over the past month I have been working with my good friend Bry and the awesome Aspen Centre for Integral Living (or ACIL, a permaculture demonstration site) to put together the workshop “Tool Use and Maintenance for Women.” Often women (especially urbanites like myself) don’t have as many opportunities to learn hands on skills that are not traditionally considered “feminine.” When learning opportunities are found, it can be difficult to be assertive and compete with male peers, who may already have more experience with the task at hand. The idea of this workshop is to give women a place where they don’t have to compete with more zealous male peers, don’t have to worry about judgement for lack of skills, and everyone gets equal time with the tools.

Tool Use and Maintenance for Women

Tools we will be using:

  • Axes
  • Shovels
  • Mattocks
  • Sickles
  • Scythes
  • Pruning shears and loppers
  • Measuring Tape
  • Hand saws
  • Power saws
  • Hammers
  • Power drills
  • Levels (for smaller scale carpentry and larger scale landscaping)
  • Wheelbarrows

 

I hope I see some of you locals at the workshop. For those of you I can only reach online, I hope we can expand the conversation about the intersections of women’s and environmental issues, and women’s roles in the permaculture movement. Expect more blog posts on the subject in the future 😉

Leave a Reply

