Garbage-Free February

February ReThink Red Deer is going Garbage Free! This year is the 10th Anniversary of Garbage-Free February. This month long event is intended to raise public awareness of waste, and challenge individuals in a different way each week to reduce the amount of material they send to landfills. I have decided I’m going all the way. My goal is to throw away nothing and only recyce and compost when needed. I will keep all of the trash I generate and keep you updated on my progress.

There are some inspirational stories out there that make going waste free seem easy:

But in my preparation for next month I am finding that waste is everywhere. Some products will deceive you!

Take for instance this yummy yummy dried mango. Despite this label eluding to recycling it is a composite material, meaning it includes paper and/or plastic and/or metal that can’t be seperated, and so not recycled or composted.

IMG_4528.jpg

IMG_4533.jpg

Or how about these goldfish? It looks like the bag might be compostable paper, but once you open it you find the “freshness” packet. I recycle what I can but I will have to be more careful when February is in full swing!

IMG_4534.jpg

IMG_4535.jpg

IMG_4536.jpg

Expect updates from me as I try to figure out how to purchase and dispose of certain things. My first most pressing waste concern is dog poop! Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

