Venturing Outside the Cave

While Canada is trapped in a winter wonderland, I am faced with the challenge of staying engaged before I can really dig into my research. (Figuratively and literally, the ground is frozen solid.)  While I am happy researching online and reading books, sometimes I do need to leave my cave.  I am happy to say that in Red Deer I have found a roller derby team, a weekly swing dance night, and an outdoors club.  One benefit of doing my Fulbright in a country and culture close to that of my home, is that I can find all of my favorite hobbies represented!

Last night I attended my first practice for the Nuclear-Free Roller Derby. It looks like an awesome group of women, and an excellent physical challenge. I’m excited to hone my skills. Shout-out to my Cairollers back in Cairo for preparing me well for this adventure!

IMG_3947

Leave a Reply

