First Day at UofA

Yesterday was my first day at the University of Alberta.  I met my advising professors, Guillermo Hernandez Ramirez and Miles Dyck.  Both are soil scientists in ALES or the College of Agriculture, Life & Environmental Sciences.  Tuesdays, I will be driving up to Edmonton and sitting in on Guillermo’s course “Environmentally Sustainable Agriculture.”  Yesterday was comprised mostly of getting lost on campus, finally meeting my professors face to face, figuring out the library, and in the class, going over the syllabus.  While navigating a new institution can be stressful, I am happy to report the persistent niceness of the majority of Canadians I meet makes every chore so much more pleasant.  Thanks, Canadians!

Yesterday was also a last: Mom’s last day in Canada.  My mother, Diana, has been relentlessly supportive of me and Jupiter.  She helped drive out and has made my research possible in so many tangible and intangible ways.  Yesterday, I dropped her at the airport on my way to UAlberta.  We miss you mom!  Say hello to Minnesota for us.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dear Starr,
    Loved receiving your blog from Canada–snowing in Minnesota today-quite beautiful–all trees etched in snow!

    Love and hugs,
    Grandma B.

    Like

Leave a Reply

